Holi Moli Logo
Smoke Shop Grow Supplies Deliveries Collectives
Holi Moli - An American Seed Co.
Avatar
ON SALE NOW

Washington Marijuana laws

Washington Medical Marijuana Laws

The state also allows for the medical use of marijuana for approved patients. Those who are eligible for the program may possess up to 24 ounces of useable marijuana and may grow up to 15 plants.

Washington Recreational Marijuana Laws

Consumers must be 21 and older in order to purchase up to one ounce of marijuana. The law does not allow for the personal cultivation of marijuana, however. 

Chapter 69.51A RCW (4KB) Ballot Initiative I-692 -- Approved by 59% of voters on Nov. 3, 1998
Effective: Nov. 3, 1998

Removed state-level criminal penalties on the use.

Amended: Senate Bill 6032 (29 KB)
Effective: 2007 (rules being defined by Legislature with a July 1, 2008 due date)

Amended: Final Rule (123 KB) based on Significant Analysis (370 KB)
Effective: Nov. 2, 2008

Possession/Cultivation: A qualifying patient and designated provider may possess a total of no more than twenty-four ounces of usable marijuana, and no more than fifteen plants. This quantity became the state's official "60-day supply" on Nov. 2, 2008.

Amended: SB 5073 (375 KB)
Effective: July 22, 2011
Gov. Christine Gregoire signed sections of the bill and partially vetoed others, as explained in the Apr. 29, 2011 veto notice. (50 KB) Gov. Gregoire struck down sections related to creating state-licensed medical marijuana dispensaries and a voluntary patient registry.

SB 5052 (840 KB) passed the House by a vote of 60-36 on Apr. 10, 2015 and the Senate by a vote of 41-8 on Apr. 14, 2015. Gov. Jay Inslee signed the bill into law with partial vetoes on Apr. 24, 2015.

The law creates a voluntary registry and allows registered patients to possess three times as much marijuana as allowed by the recreational marijuana law. Patients will be allowed to purchase medical-grade products at some stores that sell legal recreational marijuana.

Department of Health
PO Box 47866
Olympia, WA 98504-7866
Phone: 360-236-4700
Fax: 360-236-4768

MedicalMarijuana@doh.wa.gov


Website:
Medical Marijuana (Cannabis)  

The main provisions of Washington's marijuana laws are listed below.

Code Section 69.50.101, et seq.
Possession No penalty for private possession and consumption of 1 oz. or less, but a maximum fine of $100 for public consumption of less than 1 oz. Possession of 1 oz. to 40 g is a misdemeanor (up to 90 days incarceration); more than 40 g is a felony (up to 5 years incarceration)
Sale Less than 40 g.: misdemeanor, up to 5 yrs. in correctional facility and $10,000; Subsequent offense: up to double penalties; Unlawful delivery of controlled substance used by person delivered to and resulting in user's death: deliverer guilty of controlled substance homicide: Class B felony; the law unclear on how to legally obtain small amounts of marijuana for personal use.
Trafficking -



NEWSLETTER

Join our mailing list to receive updates on new arrivals and special offers.