New Jersey marijuana laws allow for the use of marijuana
New Jersey was among four new states to simultaneously back marijuana legalization measures on Election Day 2020. Nearly 67% of voters approved a ballot initiative to legalize marijuana. The measure outlines that only adults over the age of 21 would be able to use cannabis. It authorized the existing state commission on medical cannabis to govern the market for recreational use, and made the cannabis trade subject to state and local taxes. On Feb. 22, 2021, Gov. Phil Murphy signed legislation formally establishing the state's recreational marketplace, while reducing penalties for underage possession of marijuana and alcohol.
New Jersey marijuana laws allow for the use of medical marijuana, those with a doctor's recommendation may possess up to two ounces of marijuana per month.
Senate Bill 119
Approved: Jan. 11, 2010 by House, 48-14; by Senate, 25-13
Signed into law by Gov. Jon Corzine on Jan. 18, 2010
Effective: Six months from enactment.
determine how much marijuana a patient needs and give written
instructions to be presented to an alternative treatment center. The
maximum amount for a 30-day period is two ounces.
Amended: SB 2842 (40 KB)
Signed into law by Gov. Chris Christie on Sep. 10, 2013 following legislative adoption of his conditional veto
Allows edible forms of marijuana only for qualifying minors, who
must receive approval from a pediatrician and a psychiatrist.
On Dec. 20, 2011, Senator Nicholas Scutari (D), lead sponsor of the medical marijuana bill, submitted Senate Concurrent Resolution (SCR) 140
(25 KB) declaring
that the "Board of Medical Examiners proposed medicinal marijuana
program rules are inconsistent with legislative intent." The New Jersey
Senate Health, Human Services and Senior Citizens committee held a
public hearing to discuss SCR 140 and a similar bill, SCR 130, on Jan.
On Oct. 16, 2012, the Department of Health issued the first dispensary permit
(24 KB) to
Greenleaf Compassion Center, allowing it to operate as an Alternative
Treatment Center and dispense marijuana.
Department of Health (DOH)
P. O. Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Medicinal Marijuana Program
Information provided by the state on sources for medical marijuana:
Patients are not allowed to grow their own marijuana. On Mar. 21, 2011, the New Jersey DOH announced the locations of six nonprofit alternative treatment centers (ATCs)
(100 KB) from which medical marijuana may be obtained.
24:21-1, et seq.; 2C:35-2, et seq.
Under 50 g.: disorderly person (up to 6 months in jail and $1,000 fine); 100 hrs. of community service and additional fine if within 1000 ft. of school; Over 50g.: felony (up to 18 months in jail and a $25,000 fine)
Less than 1 oz.: 4th degree crime (18 months jail, $25,000 fine); 1 oz. to 5 lbs.: 3rd degree crime (3-5 yrs. in prison, $25,000 fine); 5-25 lbs.: 2nd degree crime (5-10 yrs. in prison, $150,000 fine); Over 25 lbs.: 1st degree crime (10-20 yrs. in prison, $300,000 fine)
Leader of narcotics trafficking network: life (25 year minimum before parole) and/or $500,000