Maryland lawmakers signed a bill into law in 2013 allowing for the medical use of the herb by qualifying patients. While the law doesn't allow home cultivation, Maryland has licensed more than 100 dispensaries throughout the state.
In 2014, Maryland passed a new marijuana law that decriminalizes the possession of small amounts of marijuana.
House Bill 881 (375 KB)
Approved: Apr. 8, 2014 by House, 125-11 and by Senate, 44-2
Signed by Gov. Martin O'Malley on Apr. 14, 2014
Effective: June 1, 2014
Approved diagnosis: cachexia, anorexia, or wasting syndrome, severe or chronic pain, severe
nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms, or other
conditions approved by the Commission.
Possession/Cultivation: Patients are allowed to possess a 30-day supply (amount to be
determined by the Commission). "Beginning June 1, 2016, the Commission
may issue the number of [dispensary] licenses necessary to meet the
demand for medical marijuana by qualifying patients and caregivers
issued identification cards."
Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
201 West Preston Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission
Information provided by the state on sources for medical marijuana:
"A qualifying patient or caregiver may obtain medical marijuana from
a grower’s facility or from a satellite facility of the grower."
Patient Registry Fee:
To be determined by the Commission during the rulemaking process
Accepts other states' registry ID cards?
||Maryland Criminal Law, Title 5, Subtitle 6, Part I, Section 5-601, et seq.
Under 10 grams: Fine only (Fine of up to $100 for a first offense, up to $250 for a second offense, and up to $500 for subsequent offenses.)
10 grams to 50 pounds:Misdemeanor with potential punishments of 1 year in prison and/or $1,000 in fines.
Note: Third-time offenders and individuals under 21 years of age will be required to undergo a clinical assessment for substance abuse disorder and a drug education program.
Under 50 lbs: Felony with penalty of 5 yrs. and/or fine of $15,000.
50 lbs. or more: Felony with not less than 40 yrs.
Subsequent offenses: Double penalties, mandatory 2 yrs.
||If a "drug kingpin": 20-40 yrs. and/or $1,000,000 fine.