Is Weed Legal In Louisiana, Yes for Medical Use
Medical marijuana is fully legal in Louisiana as long as the person has a medical card that was recommended and prescribed by a licensed Louisiana doctor. However, recreational marijuana is still illegal in the state.Apr 18, 2023
In 2016, lawmakers passed two amendments to the bill that corrected the language, ensured legal protection for patients, and expanded the list of qualifying conditions.
2020 was another good year for medical marijuana in Louisiana. Doctors have got the right to recommend medical marijuana for any illness they deem necessary — provided that the doctor is qualified to treat that disease.
In 2022, Louisiana increased the purchase limits for patients to 2.5 ounces of flowers every two weeks from their pharmacist.
Other products available in pharmacies include cannabis oils, extracts, sprays, capsules, lotions, gels, chewables, lotions, suppositories, and transdermal patches.
Rules and regulations for Louisiana's medical marijuana program:
- Patients must have one of 21 qualifying conditions including cancer, HIV/AIDS, Crohn's disease, Parkinson's, severe epilepsy, PTSD and others. A physician must approve use.
- Any other condition not otherwise specified “that a physician, in his medical opinion, considers debilitating to an individual patient and is qualified through his medical education and training to treat”
- Patients must apply for a medical marijuana ID card through the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy. Cards must be renewed annually.
- A 30-day supply of non-smokable preparations of marijuana
- Dispensaries may also provide cannabis “in a form to be administered by metered-dose inhaler”
- Approved products include oils, extracts, tinctures, sprays, and edible forms such as capsules and chewable tablets. 2.5 ounces of flowers every two weeks from their pharmacist.
- Home cultivation is prohibited under Louisiana's medical marijuana law. Patients must purchase products from licensed dispensaries.
- Possession limit is a one-month supply as recommended by a physician. 30-day limits are placed on purchase amounts.
- Public use, including vaping, is prohibited. Marijuana can only be consumed in a private residence with the exception of certain approved metered-dose inhalers.
- Prohibited is production of marijuana products not sold by licensed dispensaries.
- DUIs for driving under the influence of marijuana remain illegal regardless of participation in the medical marijuana program.
- Only licensed dispensaries can legally provide medical products to registered patients in Louisiana.
Louisiana Marijuana Laws: Overview
- Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 40, Section 966 (Possession of Marijuana)
- Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 40, Section 1046, et seq. (Theraputic Use of Marijuana)
- Up to 14g: Up to 15 days in parish jail and/or up to $300 in fines (first conviction)
- Over 14g: Up to 6 months in parish jail and/or up to $500 in fines (first conviction)
- 2.5 lbs to 60 lbs: 2-10 years in prison (with or without hard labor) and between $10,000 and $30,000 in fines
- 60 lbs to 2,000 lbs.: 5-30 years in prison (with hard labor) and between $50,000 and $100,000 in fines
- 2,000 lbs to 10,000 lbs.: 10-40 years in prison (with hard labor) and between $100,000 and $400,000 in fines
- Over 10,000 lbs.: 25-40 years in prison (with hard labor) and between $400,000 and $1 million in fines
|Immunity From Prosecution
Certain individuals are immune from prosecution for possession of Marijuana, including:
- Patients in state-sponsored medical marijuana programs
- Anyone who lawfully possesses medical marijuana
- Certain caregivers as defined in Section 1503
- Any person who is a domiciliary parent of a minor child that lawfully possesses medical marijuana on that child's behalf
||Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 40, Section 961, et seq. (Uniformed Controlled Dangerous Substances Law)