Is Weed Legal In Arkansas, Yes for Medical Use
Patients may purchase up to 2.5 oz of medical cannabis per 14-day period from state licensed dispensaries. Patients under the age of 21 are not permitted to consume herbal forms of cannabis. Inhaling herbal cannabis is not permitted by adults in the presence of a pregnant woman or a child age 14 or under.
Rules and regulations for Arkansas' medical marijuana program:
- Patients must have one of 18 qualifying conditions including cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, ALS, Tourette's syndrome, Crohn's disease, and others.
- A physician certification is required and patients must apply for a registry ID card through the Arkansas Department of Health.
- There are 38 licensed medical marijuana dispensaries operating in Arkansas as of 2022. The state will license up to 40 total.
- Approved products include marijuana flower, extracts, oils, topicals, and edibles containing cannabis. Smoking marijuana is not allowed under the program.
- Home cultivation is prohibited. Patients can only obtain medical cannabis from state-licensed dispensaries.
- Purchase limits are 2.5 ounces of marijuana every 14 days. Possession is capped at 2.5 ounces at any time.
- Medical marijuana cannot be consumed in public places, on federal property, or while operating any vehicles or machinery.
- Applicants for medical marijuana ID cards cannot have any previous felony convictions for marijuana-related offenses.
- Patient registry ID cards and authorized purchase amounts are tracked in a state database accessible to law enforcement.
- Driving under the influence of medical marijuana remains illegal and can result in a DUI for registered patients.
- Only licensed medical marijuana dispensaries can legally supply products to registered patients in Arkansas.
As of early 2017, governmental bodies in Arkansas are considering the legalization of medical cannabis in the treatment of serious symptoms and illnesses. See Marijuana Medical Benefits When this law is passed, it will also make room for a few dozen dispensaries and cultivation facilities around the state.
The table below outlines Alabama’s main marijuana laws.
5-64-101, et seq.
Less than 4 oz., 1st offense: Class A misdemeanor (max. 1 yr., $2,500 fine); 1-4 oz., and any subsequent offense: Class D felony (max. 6 yrs., $10,000 fine); 4 oz. - 10 lbs.: max. 6 yrs., $10,000 fine; 10-25 lbs.: mandatory min. 3 yrs - max. 10 yrs. and $10,000 fine; 25-100 lbs.: mandatory min. 5 yrs. - max. 20 yrs. and $15,000 fine; 100-500 lbs.: mandatory min. 6 yrs. - max. 30 yrs. and $15,000 fine.
14 g or less: misdemeanor (max. 1 yr., $2,500 fine); 14 g - 4 oz.: felony (max. 6 yrs., $10,000); 4 oz. - 25 lbs.: mandatory min. 3 yrs. - max. 10 yrs. and $10,000 fine; 25-100 lbs.: mandatory min. 5 yrs. - max. 20 yrs. and $15,000 fine; 100-500 lbs.: mandatory min. 6 yrs. - max. 30 yrs. and $15,000 fine; increased penalty within 1000 ft. of school
500 lbs. or more (presumption of intent to traffick): mandatory min. 10 yrs. - max. 40 yrs., $15,000 fine
Yes, in 2016 voters approved the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment, (Issue 6) as an amendment to the state constitution. This amendment legalized marijuana for medical use in Arkansas for 17 qualifying conditions and allowed for the establishment and regulation of marijuana dispensaries and cultivation facilities. Qualifying medical conditions include:
- Positive status for HIV/AIDS
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Tourette’s snydrome
- Crohn’s disease
- Ulcerative colitis
- Severe arthritis
- Alzheimer’s disease
For the most updated information, speak with an attorney or contact the Arkansas Department of Health.