House Bill 573(215 KB) Approved: May 23, 2013 by Senate, 18-6 and June 26, 2013 by House, 284-66
Signed into law by Gov. Maggie Hassan on July 23, 2013 Effective: Upon passage
authorizes the use of therapeutic cannabis in New Hampshire, establishes
a registry identification card system, allows for the registration of
up to four non-profit alternative treatment centers in the state, and
establishes an affirmative defense for qualified patients and designated
caregivers with valid registry ID cards.
HB 573 also calls for the creation of a Therapeutic Use of
Cannabis Advisory Council, which in five years will be required to
"issue a formal opinion on whether the program should be continued or
A valid ID card from another medical marijuana state will be
recognized as allowing the visiting patient to possess cannabis for
therapeutic purposes, but the "visiting qualifying patient shall not
cultivate or purchase cannabis in New Hampshire or obtain cannabis from
alternative treatment centers..."
Approved Conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for HIV, AIDS, hepatitis C, ALS,
muscular dystrophy, Crohn's disease, agitation of Alzheimer's disease,
multiple sclerosis, chronic pancreatitis, spinal cord injury or disease,
traumatic brain injury, or "one or more injuries that significantly
interferes with daily activities as documented by the patient's
provider; and a severely debilitating or terminal medical condition or
its treatment that has produced at least one of the following: elevated
intraocular pressure, cachexia, chemotherapy induced anorexia, wasting
syndrome, severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed
medication or surgical measures or for which other treatment options
produced serious side effects, constant or severe nausea, moderate to
severe vomiting, seizures, or severe, persistent muscle spasms."
Possession/Cultivation: "A qualifying patient shall not obtain more than 2 ounces of usable
cannabis directly or through the qualifying patient's designated
caregiver during a 10-day period." A patient may possess two ounces of
usable cannabis and any amount of unusable cannabis.
Information provided by the state on sources for medical marijuana:
HB 537 requires DHHS to register two nonprofit alternative
treatment centers within 18 months of the bill's effective date,
provided that at least two applicants are qualified. There can be no
more than four alternative treatment centers at one time.
Patient Registry Fee:
To be determined during the rulemaking process